banner image
projects funded with the help of Health Lottery players
banner image
raised for these health-related projects
banner image
people living healthier lives as a result

The Health Lottery was founded with a very specific aim – to use funds raised from people playing our games to help tackle health inequality in Great Britain. We believe everyone has a right to health and happiness, and we will help those who need support to get a fairer share and improve their well-being.

Six society lotteries

The Health Lottery is not a national lottery.​​​

It is six Community Interest Companies (CICs), operating six society lotteries under the common brand - The Health Lottery.

Each of the six lotteries trade in two distinct regions so that, between the twelve regions, every part of Great Britain receives a share of the funds raised (see the map below).

Each society lottery is licensed by the Gambling Commission and raises money for vital grassroots projects within their respective areas.  

If you would like to know more about specific projects, some of our favourites can be found here.


Funds raised through playing The Health Lottery tackle the causes and symptoms of health inequality at the local level. Supported projects do vital work the length and breadth of Great Britain.


Men and women living in neighbourhoods experiencing the highest levels of disadvantage in Scotland spend, on average, nearly 23 fewer years in good health than those in the most affluent areas. Men in the most disadvantaged areas will die 13 years younger.


In England and Wales, people living in neighbourhoods experiencing the highest levels of disadvantage will, on average, die nine years younger than people living in the wealthiest neighbourhoods.

The current society benefitting from funds raised is LEW Health CIC T/A HL London West

The Health Lottery operates on behalf of 6 Community Interest Companies (CICs), managing 6 society lotteries that operate in 12 geographical regions across Great Britain. These exist to help tackle health inequalities in their respective areas. People’s Health Trust (PHT) is an independent charity that assesses grant applications and award funding across the 12 regions. Read about some of the good causes HERE. For information regarding all funded projects or to submit a grant application visit PHT HERE. 20.34% of every lottery draw ticket and online scratchcard purchased is donated to good causes. 36.02% is spent on prizes. 43.64% is spent expenses (actual expenses exceed this figure). Our average annual proceeds from lotteries are £12.5m. The odds of winning The Big Win jackpot are (1 in 2.1m) and the odds of winning any Big Win prize is (1 in 9.7). The odds of winning the All or Nothing jackpot is (1 in 1.35m) and the odds of winning any All or Nothing prize is (1 in 4.5). The odds of winning a QuickWin jackpot is (1 in 2.1m) and the odds of winning any QuickWin prize is (1 in 6). All winning lottery numbers are selected using an approved random number generator (RNG). Click on the links below for full T&Cs and FAQs for each of our games.

Please help us to support vital health causes in your community. Each of the 6 society lotteries is licensed by the Gambling Commission.